Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to change my chrome fuel filler door to satin black, but not sure if I should spray paint it or plastidip it (I've never used plastidip before). If you have experience painting the fuel door, please advise pros and cons of either (ease of application, looks, durability, etc.).

·
Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
17,770 Posts
The general reason people plasidip seems to be because it's reversible. Don't like it, just peel it off

A Guy

Reactions: RockanRoll

·
Registered
2,114 Posts
Do they have a satin black plastidip out of a can? I have only seen and used flat black.

I have sprayed the Rust-Oleum Universal satin black on my front chrome grill and it looks factory. I prefer conventional paint than plastidip if you are going to leave it on forever.

·
Premium Member
443 Posts
If you spray plastidip you will know if you like the look and if not you can peel it right back. If you do like the look then you can peel it off and do a perminate spray paint. That's the advantages of plastidip before you make a irreversible paint job. Autozone carrys the spray cans of it.

·
Registered
5,868 Posts
Personally I would not even fool around with plastidip or paint. By the time you remove the door, prep it, dip/paint and reinstall you could have just popped out the chrome one and installed a black oem one for about 100 bucks. I would say that there are plenty of pictures of Challengers in all colors available with the black fuel door to help you decide if you like it or not.

·
Registered
499 Posts
I would dip it to make sure you really want a black fuel door. I Plasti dipped my last Challenger's chrome fuel door to matte black. You can create satin if you use both the matte black and gloss spray cans at the same time when spraying. Be sure to have at least 4-5 coats of matte black before creating the satin layers. Makes it much easier to peel when you're done.