Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, looks like I blew my motor. Number 6 has no compression, so now I am looking at building a new stroker. I am a novice at these Hemi motors, so I want to get some input from members that have done this before me.

What I am thinking so far is a 426 with a 9.5 CR. Supercharger spec'ed cam and probably 12lbs of boost off of my existing Vortech. How would you build the motor and what all would you do to it during the build? Also, what other items should I upgrade at the same time?

·
Premium Member
1,949 Posts
Well, looks like I blew my motor. Number 6 has no compression, so now I am looking at building a new stroker. I am a novice at these Hemi motors, so I want to get some input from members that have done this before me.

What I am thinking so far is a 426 with a 9.5 CR. Supercharger spec'ed cam and probably 12lbs of boost off of my existing Vortech. How would you build the motor and what all would you do to it during the build? Also, what other items should I upgrade at the same time?
I am assuming you are going to do a complete new shortblock. Obviously you will want forged internals to start with. If you have a v3 vortech 12psi might be pushing it on a 426. But assuming you will be running that much one way or another give some research into what kind of rings you're going to run and how large of a gap. You will get differing opinions on ARP head and mains, I would at least do the mains since they are not easily changeable later.

Also a 426 with that much boost will probably require an upgraded driveline. Axles as well if you plan on racing.

·
Vendor
5,689 Posts
Give us a call if you have a moment and we can go over the entire engine specs/options and build process to ensure you get exactly what you want out of your car. There are various options depending on what budget and end goals you have, and we can help you with every step of it.

888-SPD-LOGX