Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I want to first state that I am brand new to this and hope that I am doing this right. Now that that is out of the way I would like to detail my problem. I am the proud owner of a 2012 Challenger R/T Classic who just happened to have the misfortune of having a heavy metal gate open as I was backing out of my drive way. I am stationed here in Germany and am skeptical about the outrageous repair quotes I am getting from the local German body shops. I happen to be a seasoned welder(8 years) for the Air Force and am more than competent in Metal working. The dent is a crease type, 1 foot in length on the rear drive side quarter panel, approximately 1.5 feet away from the gas cap. I have welded on various military equipment fuel housing items but those have all been purged thoroughly and do to my very minimized resources I cannot drop the tank for the purpose of welding to repair the dent. This thing is an eyesore and is making a gorgeous car kind of an eyesore. What is the probability of a safety accident occurring due to Mig'ing the area that I need? Any help would be greatly appreciated and once more I apologize if I posted this in the wrong area. V/R

·
Registered
82 Posts
Use a sewer plug on the gas tank nozzle. Then check your LEL levels if you have a LEL meter. Should b fine. I work on a in service pipeline from time to time an we have been known to pack the pipeline from time to time with mud to seal it off from vapors. If we can remove the sewer plug we use that since it seals a lot better. The mud works great and will break up and get caught in the filters. Which won't work for your problem. But the LEL's are zero in both cases are we don't weld. And we are using stick rod. Just a different way to look at it. Hope it helps you out.