Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A quick look under the hood, left me puzzled as to how the airbox is disassembled.If someone could post some simple instructions, I would be most appreciative.Also how the engine cover is removed.As I recall on my C5 that was a real pita.In real life I was an engineer, not a mechanic.Its an R/T..

·
Registered
2,311 Posts
not to be a smart ass or anything, but have you tried the owner's manual?
If it does not clearly tell you how to open, there are a few plastic tabs that you press in and the top should pull up exposing the filter. Then you can replace the filter. Sometimes it's easier to remove the various tubes which are attached to the box first. Engine cover just pulls up/snaps in place I believe.

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I read the owners manual from cover to cover, and watched the DVD.They apparently made some changes as the operation of the auto-stick, trip odometer, and removing the engine top cover or disassembling the airbox are not in there.Just about everything that I don't have on my R/T was...

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Are the latches the two tabs in the front.Do they pull out or push in.I had fits on my C5 and and came very close to breaking it by going the wrong way.

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I could feel them release, but couldn't budge the lid.Started to take the accordian rubber tubing that goes to the throttle body. but thought better of it.It appears to me that the stock setup will feed as much cool air as you need.The cold air kits I looked at, are not going to keep engine heat away, the dividers are made of black plastic, bet dollars to donuts that after a short period of time plenty of heat will invade the area where the cone filter sits.Whereas the stock inlet pulls atmospheric air fron outside the engine compartment.

·
Premium Member
3,546 Posts