Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, as a quick back story, I joined the forum because I'm trying to help my brother out with some problems he's having with his '09 Challenger SRT-8.

My bro was recently involved in a bad motorcycle accident and is going to be in the hospital/rehab for a bit. Only about a week before the accident he had asked me to take his car and fix a couple issues he's been having ( were both firefighters, but I was a mechanic before and still work as one part time ). I have the car now and I'm hoping to have it back to normal when he's able to drive, so I'm looking for some help.

On to the issues...

Like I said, the car is an 09' 6.1 SRT8 with the 6spd. We also procharged a few years ago with the basic accompanying bolt-ons. The car dyno'd somewhere just under 600rwhp. A year or so after installing the procharger his stock clutch started going (as we expected), so I installed a Centerforce DYAD DS clutch for him (specs here). After a couple trips to the drag strip (and possibly some not so good burnouts on his part), the clutch is slipping like crazy. I know it most likely is junk, so that's my first task with the car. The advice I'm looking for is what other people (preferably with modded SRT-8s) are using. Is the Centerforce a good choice in these cars, or is there a better option for his power level??