Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, new here, I`m planing to buy a 2012 CHALLENGER SRT8 in september and want to know ups and downs on manual versus automatic, black versus orange, and if there is anything I should look for when test driving the beast!! Personally I want to go with a orange manual trans. This might be a stupid question, are stripes painted or vinyl? I just don`t want to visit the dealership just to avoid the sales people specially if I`m not buying right now. I would apreciate any heads up on what to look for during pre delivery inspection and test drive, and if anyone knows if any new wheel design will be introduced on the 2012 year model. Please don`t hold back on technical words and crazy explanations as I am a ASE master tech, nissan and infinity platinum master tech and curently own my auto repair facility. Thank you in advance for all the imput. Ricky from Tampa, Fl.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Auto vs. manual is really a personal choice. I like auto because I am an old fart and want to relax when I do my burnouts. When I bought my GN 25 years ago, i was upset that I couldn't get it in a manual. All my race cars were 4 speeds up until then. Now I am spoiled. So, if you are young and like to drive with spirit, get the manual. If you want to relax after busting your butt in the shop all day, get the auto. If you are racing, the auto will get you to the end quicker. The auto gets better gas mileage.

Black vs. orange. Black is the most impressive, but, a real pain in the butt. It will show everything, and I mean everything. Even freaking dog hairs! If you have a lot of time and are anal about the looks of a car, then go with black. The orange will be much easier to keep up and looking nice. I went with Redline Pearl for the R/T. After 25 years of black, I need a break!

·
Registered
1,751 Posts