Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
2,674 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I have a quick question. My car idles at around 550 RPM when at a stop with the gear in D. Is this normal? I have noticed that it happens more often when I have the AC off. I have had some idling issues in the past where the RPM would stay at around 1500 but were fixed when my dealer changed my throttle body. I have noticed that the 550 RPM idling happens when I'm at a stop and would go back to normal once I change into N and back to D while at the same stop. Is this normal?

I'd appreciate your feedback.

Thanks,

Fawaz

·
Registered
29 Posts
Also...I think the auto has something that cuts cylinders when they are not needed to help it conserve fuel..as I said...im no expert but thats something you can google to maybe help u answer your question. ..also...if it really just annoys you...buy a diablo trinity tuner, wich, with your auto, you will want anyways....I think it has an option to change your idle rpm to what u want it to be! Hope this helps. I just got my trinity yesterday and I absolutely love the adjustments u can make.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Premium Member
2,009 Posts
I have a quick question. My car idles at around 550 RPM when at a stop with the gear in D. Is this normal? I have noticed that it happens more often when I have the AC off. I have had some idling issues in the past where the RPM would stay at around 1500 but were fixed when my dealer changed my throttle body. I have noticed that the 550 RPM idling happens when I'm at a stop and would go back to normal once I change into N and back to D while at the same stop. Is this normal?
Your post is very confusing. Please be more specific with RPMs instead of "normal". 550 RPM in D is about correct. 1,500 RPM idle is way too fast in N let alone D. From what I understand the MDS only kicks in at highway speeds.

·
Registered
29 Posts