Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if a programmer canned tune (such as from a Diablosport) really does anything. I have a 2010 SRT8 that is bone stock. I'm new to this "new school" hot rodding so I'm not familiar with these things. Most of the magazine articles and so on don't really say how much this one change really helped. They'll say things like it "seems to improve throttle response" and stuff like that but I've seen painfully little hard data when it comes to these simple types of modifications. I'm thinking of doing just a CAI and maybe one of these tuners. However, I can't see how adding maybe 15 hp really justifies something like $700.00 cost between the two items.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How noticeable is it? Can you really tell "seat of the pants"? Don't mean to seem skeptical - I just don't know. My past tuning experience is with twisting distributors and changing jets....

·
Premium Member
3,128 Posts
Get a intune and cai and a lower temp (180) thermostat. Totally wakes car up. You can get a nice package for around 600

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Is an Intune easy to use? Again, sorry for the ignorance. Good or bad, I sold my 1970 Charger to get the Challenger. I have no regrets - I just love this car. I guess I'm just "starting over".

·
Premium Member
3,128 Posts
Very easy to use and you save your stock tune to the programmer before you start adjusting parameters. Throttle boost and harder shifts were what I wanted. I started with a predator on my 06 charger and upgraded when I got my srt

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7