Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may have been discussed before, but I am new to this whole thing of computer tuning. I have a 2013 RT Plus that I have added a legmaker CAI and also added a Blastin Bobs glasspack kit. Is it worth getting a tuner and will it really make any difference? This car is my daily driver and I like the gas mileage I get with the MDS on. I would like firmer shifts from the tranny and I have a little taller tires in the back so I could adjust for that too. If worthwile, is Diablo the way to go or are there others that work better? Thanks, John

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Yes, definitely worth it...especially with a custom tune. I guess you could leave MDS on, but I get better mileage with it off (and a custom tune).

·
Registered
724 Posts
I have my stock tune in right now so I can have my car inspected and let me tell you I cant stand it.
Its like night and day with the reduced torque management
The car pulls through all gears without hesitation while lighting up the taxes
X2 on the gas mileage with no mds ,stayed the same for me

·
Registered
630 Posts
Your back tires shouldn't be taller than stock unless your particular tire is taller than a normal 275/40R20.

An Intune is $450. The Trinity is around $600. Are they worth it if you aren't going to do any future mods? I don't think you will notice a huge performance gain, but "huge" is relative. If you have extra cash, go for it. Or, put it on your Christmas list. :) My comments are based upon the performance of my 2010 vehicle. I'm not sure how it compares to the newer cars.

I had a Predator before I supercharged my car. The thing I liked best about it was the throttle boost. When you pressed the accelerator, it was more responsive. I'm not sure what that did to the gas mileage, though. Probably didn't help....

·
Registered
724 Posts
Tires*
damn auto correct

·
Premium Member
1,134 Posts