Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
It seems to be giving off a lot more exhaust smell and after install , I started the car and hit the throttle and it revved up nicely and stalled out. It only happened upon first start. Took it for a test drive and everything seems good. That just worried me. I did not think it would suck so much air that you can hear it doing so. That is pretty cool. I know I sound like a newbie, I am not a mechanic and am new to this.

·
Registered
2010 R/T Classic 6M
573 Posts
No CEL right? Exhaust shouldnt smell any different and it shouldn't stall unless there's a leak.

·
Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
18,659 Posts
One reason people install CAI is for the increased intake sound. That and the bling are about all they are for

A Guy

·
Registered
2015 RT Shaker (STP/A8/FORGED/NAPPA/NO SUNROOF)
505 Posts
Normal.

·
Registered
2016 Challenger RT Plus
345 Posts
I had that intake but I never had a stall or smell issue. You could def hear the suction through the intake louder though, and there was a definite throttle response improvement.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Robsrtplus...The stall only happened on initial start up, same with the exhaust smell. It sucks air, I noticed a gain in MPG, seems like a decent piece of kit

·
Registered
2016 Challenger RT Plus
345 Posts
Robsrtplus...The stall only happened on initial start up, same with the exhaust smell. It sucks air, I noticed a gain in MPG, seems like a decent piece of kit
yeah it's a good system. Some guys argue that the oiled filter can cause the intake temp sensor to foul... I've never actually seen or heard of that happening but don't know if it can or not. I ended up swapping mine for the hellcat airbox because I didn't like the way the K&N system looked.

·
Registered
27 Posts