Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Challenger SXT AWD
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know a few of y’all have gone with the Kenwood Excelon P-XR600-6DSP. I’m considering snagging one, and just looking for tips or any info I should watch out for. I am an electronics tech so fine with splicing and building connectors, but I am a complete novice with car audio. Swapping out the speakers was my first venture.

My current setup:

2019 SXT
Base 6-speaker, no amp
I have replaced all six speakers with the Excelon 6903C set and X174‘s.

So Crutchfield includes the Maestro AR interface, and I’ve added the appropriate T-harness to the cart. The instruction PDF’s look straightforward. Will there be additional wire cutting/splicing of the interface wiring necessary for the job, or pretty much plug and play? What is the best location to install the Maestro AR, assuming the amp goes into the trunk?

Given that I probably don’t know enough to know what questions to ask, any additional words of wisdom would be appreciated!

Thanks.

·
Registered
2016 Challenger SXT
45 Posts
It is basically plug and play. I mounted the amp in my trunk. I bought speed wire to run the speakers wires from the T-harness back to the amplifier. That was the only soldering I needed to do. The only problem I had was “programming” the car to realize that it had an amplifier now. I called tech idatalink tech support and they were great at helping me troubleshoot the issue.

·
Registered
2019 Challenger SXT AWD
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Kwkride, thank you much sir, you were the poster I had seen in earlier threads concerning this amp. That’s a good clean install mounted to the side like that.

Good tip about programming the car itself, I had no idea. it looks like this step is now included in the Maestro documentation.