Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
Just a Ram now ...
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long story short, Ive been driving manuals for more than 35 years. This is the first manual that just simply pisses me off. It is rough shifting, crude, but typical Tremec.

Leave the shifter itself OUT of this discussion. It is not the problem. This tranny blows as did my T6 in my SRT-10. But, I can live with the crudeness.

What I simply CANNOT live with is the transmission forcing me into 4th from first. So, I installed the skip shift. Seems like that worked. HOWEVER, there is another issue which I suspect is electronics. No matter what drive mode I am in, I am crawling in traffic in second gear, I slowly creep up to 2500 2600 rpm, then push in the clutch and "just" beginning to push the shifter out of second, CLUTCH PEDAL is already to the floor, the stick will kick back and I hear grinding. AGAIN, the freakin clutch pedal is to the floor. There is nothing I can do to stop the grinding sound but slap the shifter into the neutral gate.

If I drive with any more aggression above "gandma mode" or crawling in traffic, the tanny never does this. Is that solenoid still trying to engage and force the shifter over to the 3-4 gate while its still locked in second gear? WTF is this car doing?

Please, if you don't know exactly, or have experienced this, please do not post. No need for opinion or conjecture.

Thank you for any guidance...

·
Super Moderator
17,434 Posts
some of the potential issues going on:

• hydraulic system needs to be bled - clutch is not fully releasing
  • fault with slave cylinder / throwout bearing assembly - leaking down and not holding clutch * friction disc completely free when pedal is depressed
  • issues with synchronizers

I've owned two M6 Challengers for a cumulative 86K (to date) and don't have those issues. First was a '09 and now have a '16 (both since new)