Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just leased a brand new 2014 Dodge Challenger R/T Plus Blacktop (in "Header Orange"). After all included options (incl. laser security etching & Pearl Guard protection), the total price of the car was $39,275.

The bottom-line deal turned out that the dealer agreed to pay off my current vehicle in full (a 2012 Nissan Juke for $18,275) + no money down, dealer pays first month's lease payment of $450, and the monthly lease payment is $450 for 35 months ($16,200 in total). Keep in mind that I've never done a lease before.

My main reason for going with a lease is because I've accepted the fact that I will have a car payment for the rest of my life, and I wanted the option of upgrading to a new vehicle and/or model every 3 years. Was this a wise move?

Additionally, I've already taken it upon myself to make some upgrades to my leased Challenger. I've added the R/T black hash decal stripes to the hood/fender, and I've upgraded the rear tires to Goodyear Eagle RSA "All Season" tires.

So my main question is... Will my decision to upgrade my Challenger come back to haunt me when it comes time to turn over the vehicle at the end of my lease? Will the dealership take into account all of the upgrades and give me a better deal on my trade-in? Or will I be "punished" for making personal modifications to a vehicle which I do not actually own?

Clearly I'm "Flying Blind" here, so that's why I'm reaching out to you guys to better edumacate me on all this stuff. ;)

Thanks guys...
Mikey ;)

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
As long as your not doing 'performance mods' or dumping your money into the car thats technically not yours you should be fine. I guess you could always take the mods off and sell em but youll never get full price back.

On the other hand though. Sounds like you did the right choice by leasing.

·
Premium Member
6,492 Posts