Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone consider installing a lithium ion battery in their Challenger? I know they are expensive I was looking at options to save some weight.

Ben

·
Registered
160 Posts
Ben, I have been considering a lithium battery for several months, but am concerned about their lower amp hour ratings versus the parasitic drain from the Challenger’s electronics. I’m sure if a car is driven regularly, extensive discharge wouldn’t be an issue. I added a Challenger space saver spare and jack, so shaving 30 pounds off the battery would help neutralize some of the added weight. At this time, I feel that purchasing a lithium battery is more of an expensive “take one for the team” experiment to see how these batteries perform in general service. Unfortunately, there is precious little information available from real world users, although some very high-end cars are starting to offer lithium batteries as standard equipment. I’m currently leaning toward a Braille i48c or i49c battery, due to their sterling motorsports reputation, although the Antigravity RS-20 looks like a good alternative at less than $600; but again, the amp hour rating is a worry. If I hit the lotto, I’ll post up some pictures and feedback for other interested parties.

·
Registered
2015 SRT392 A8 in white pearl coat
1,352 Posts