Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is an issue that I have had over the past year. When my foot is off the throttle and I press it down (normally) I hear this loud thud that I can feel and hear under my feet. The loudness of the thud depends on where its triggered. For example, when I'm at a stoplight and I roll into 1st gear, I hear it. The faster I roll off first the louder the thud is. Now this doesn't happen every time. Some days it is very quiet and unnoticeable, and some days its very very loud. I've taken it to the dealership a couple times to get it checked out but they told me they couldn't hear it and that its probity not something I should be worried about. I am no mechanic but I suspect the noises are coming from an issue with my driveshaft. The car only has 35,000 miles on it, but I do drive it hard and do burnouts.

·
Premium Member
The Bacon Hauler (‘12 Cop Charger)
10,123 Posts
Drivers side motor mount is bad

·
Premium Member
10,123 Posts
I don't think its that, the sound is coming from under my feet
The first time mine went bad, I swore up and down it was coming from the rear-end. The car body can make sounds move around sometimes.

Based on the info you gave in your first post, it sounds a helluva lot like an engine mount to me, and since the Hemi always eats the left one first, that’s my main suspect for your noise.

There are a couple ways to visually test it, but they involve finding a helper and this and that. Sometimes you can see where the fluid has leaked out of you crawl up under there and look.

·
Super Moderator
17,463 Posts
I don't think its that, the sound is coming from under my feet