Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Scat Pack
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm one step away form buying the Barton shifter for my '16 Scat pack.
1. Is the skip shift eliminator still a thing? If so, should i put it in with the Barton?
2. Installation
a. Is this thing a nightmare if you're not a car mechanic?
b. Any good ideas on a shop that'll do the install near queens/LI NY? One guy told me like $700 installed which seemed a little high...

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
128 Posts
I was able to install the Barton on my '17 Scat Pack and I'm by no means a mechanic. WorkPlayDrive has an installation video on YouTube. I would recommend watching the video to determine if you want to try it. The hardest thing for me was a lack space for hand placement to remove and replace the pins and clips. I installed a skip shift eliminator prior to the Barton but its not required.

Sent from my SM-T860 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2015 SRT, 6 Speed, Sublime Green
2,093 Posts
It is as simple as disconnecting the appropriate connector and the putting the eliminator in the connector. The only mildly difficult thing is the small space in which to put your hands. It’s pretty easy. It’s not a required step. It is a good move if you hate getting the shifter locked out and forced to go to 4th gear when you get in the range of speed/rpms. Making that go away is well worth the effort.

·
Registered
2019 M6 Scat Pack
827 Posts
I don't know why Dodge put it in the car. It's certainly not to save gas. They already charge the guzzler tax.

·
Registered
16,216 Posts
I don't know why Dodge put it in the car. It's certainly not to save gas. They already charge the guzzler tax.
It might be required, all the OEM's have it and have for decades, this skip-shift system first used on the 89 Corvette.