Registered
1,309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
WARNING: Lengthy Post

Vehicle: 2012 Challenger R/T 6spd w/ STP, year-round daily driver
Objective: Make my ride sound like it looks & drives
User: 50-year-old married dad with a couple of teenage daughters
Budget: Under $1,000 installed

Requirements: Obtain a deep, rich and rumbly muscle-car tone without excessive rasp or bark. Vehicle must serve as family transportation up to 20% of the time, so it cannot be crazy-loud. Drone must be minimal.

Approach: For months I studied YouTube videos and read countless user reviews on ChallengerTalk and elsewhere. I sought out but identified relatively few in-person custom exhaust setups that sounded good to me. I narrowed prospective systems to either a manufactured cat-back or a pieced-together solution featuring just new mufflers/straight pipe.

Selection process: I’ve yet to read a bad review about SOLO Exhaust, so that one was high on my list. However, many commented that it absolutely roars under WOT, and that’s just not for me. I do not like the ‘NASCAR’ sound and need the tone to be mostly deep & rumbly.

Turning to MAGNAFLOW, their cat-backs seemed close to what I was after, but are over $1,000. I could not justify paying that much when lower-priced systems sound as good or better (for my taste). I considered replacing only my factory mufflers with Magnaflows and adding straight pipe in place of the resonators---a cost-effective route---but something made me feel that a pieced-together system would be a disappointment, especially in terms of possible drone.

Turning to MBRP, the sound seemed almost perfect: deep, rich, rumbly, not much bark, not crazy-loud, and their newer systems (post-2010) seem to have conquered the drone issue. The system seemed robust, well made & nicely-finished, the user reviews were mostly positive, and the $800 price was within budget.