Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize if this is not the forum to ask for new car buying advice. I am purchasing my first new vehicle (ever -- been driving the same used vehicle for the last 10+ years). I test drove the SXT, R/T and now a R/T Scat and well here I am about to purchase a 2017 Scat.

As a total newbie to new car buying, like anyone, my biggest concern is getting a really bad deal. I can live with a fair deal. I recently found a new 2017 R/T Scat Pack with a MSRP of $48k. This includes package 24G, 8 speed auto, dynamics package, leather interior group, driver convenience group, sunroof, 8.4 inch u-connect and sound group 2. It appears to include most of the optional packages except the technology group (with the forward collision warning, which I did want but suppose I can live without).

The dealer is offering me around $3200 in rebates (mostly mid atlantic rebates). Plus another one or two discounts due to some programs I qualify for. Plus some other behind the scenes deductions I am not privy to. The final purchase price they are offering is $41k, which includes my $1k trade in (which matches blue book value for my old vehicle, can't complain given its condition). Adding in $600 in fees and $2500 in taxes adds another $3k or so, for a final out the door price of $44k.

I see that Truecar lists the average (for the same configuration) at $42.8k, with an expected $6.2k off MSRP. KBB lists the fair market range from $41.7-$43.3, although it's not clear if that includes the exact configuration of this vehicle.

Anyway, Truecar recommends $6.2k off MSRP as the average, with anything around $42k as a "great" deal, and my offer appears to be around $6.9k off MSRP. I assume this number is meant to exclude taxes and other fees.