Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
2016 SRT
458 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, we must say good by to my beautiful 15 Granite SRT. After just over 2 years and 35K on the clock, ponding water got me on Interstate 69 just North of Houston. We had heavy rain in Houston on Monday and after it had quit raining where I was, I re-engaged the cruise and set it for the speed limit just in case. I must have relaxed a little, maybe even looked down at the screen. Snap 90 degree turn to the right, stabbed the throttle to get her to keep going around but that did nothing and she took and set and nosed right into the outside Jersey Barrier. I've been driving for 40+ years and I have never felt a change of direction like this. There was seriously no warning.
GEICO let me know the other day she is a total loss. :frown: They did however give me a day to swap out my mods.

So now the look for a new ride. I'm in no hurry since I can be in a rental for work from now till about Nov 1.
Seen several 16 SRTs with 10K discounts out there. The amount I drive has me thinking a Hellcat isn't the right choice since I just wouldn't feel right putting those miles on it and the Tech package is still not offered. Not that all that safety stuff in the tech package helped me at all on Monday. :headbang:

I guess the lesson learned is keep that cruise control off in any rainy conditions.

If I don't get another challenger the following mods will be up for grabs...
KW adjustable springs, Drake upper tower brace, Speedlogix adjustable control arms, BWoody sway bar end links and a Drake black billet fuel door. All of these will most probably be available at the SCLX Lonestar Moparfest in Oct. By then I should have made the call on replacement.

Attachments

·
Registered
515 Posts
Coming soon to Cleveland Power and Performance possibly.

It amazes me what is a total loss these days, they don't seem to look too bad.