Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so let me explain myself first. Im an auto tech and posses many car skills required to build from the ground up. I can see what i want a car to look like and build tward that. I purchased a '11 from an auction for 1200. Yes 1200. Nose was gone(perfect for me) no other damage besides air bags/seat belts. Bought it in west Virginia. I live in Tampa fl. So i fired up my f150( last project) and took a trailer to WV. Loaded the the challenger up and brought it home. I have always wanted a challenger since they came out. The end result im after is a 440(old school engine) and 6 speed.

I started in march '19. Bought fenders from a junkyard. Ordered a nose from ebay( nightmare) would not recommend the nose i bought and redeye hood from dodge. Lights are aftermarket( front and rear) sequential turn signals.

I stumbled across another challenger at the auctions in NJ. Second was destroyed. Someone made mistake and had it marked sxt yet it was a r/t with 25k miles. I bought it for1900. Was 6 speed also. Pass side was gone( hit a tree) had cloth interior. Engine and drive line was fine. I did my homework and researched if it was possible to swap everything out. Very limited info out on the web about it. Im no rookie to making drastic switches to cars/trucks so ive got the knowledge and the tools. Anyways i sold the 3.6 out of the sxt. Sold trans and diff. Recouped my initial $$ for the sxt plus some.

What most of you dont realize and i didnt either is that these cars are actually made for standards. Not automatic. They are set up to be stick. Factory actually has to make changes to become automatics.