Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so let’s start with what I have. I drive a 2017 challenger rt with the manual 6 speed transmission. It is stock as far as performance parts go besides a corsa cold air intake, mid muffler delete, and a trinity t1000 programmer. Which none of this actually seems to have made my car any faster or peppier. So now I wanting to purchase a supercharger for it. I have my eye on the whipple 2.9l but have a few questions before I buy it since I have never done forced induction before. Will I need to put forged internals inside my block or will the stock 5.7 support the supercharger? The website says I should gain around 150 horsepower at the rear wheels. I don’t know how much boost it will be running but I don’t want to push it that hard. If I’m not mistaken the 2017 challenger rt manual comes with 375 horsepower stock. I’m wanting to get 450 or so to the rear wheels not the crank. Also does the kit come with everything I need? Or will I need to buy a fuel pump, injectors, etc. before I install the whipple? The next question is will the stock transmission handle that much power? If so, how much power can the stock transmission handle? I’m sorry for all the questions but I don’t know anyone personally that deals with this kind of thing. Thanks I’m advance for any help.

·
Registered
3,501 Posts
So short answer. Running say 6lbs you SHOULD be fine. Like most things nothing is guaranteed. It will be more hp and you will like it for a while. But it will get to a point that you want more.
So without a long drawn out story. Stop. Buy a hellcat. Aftermarket superchargers don’t drive like factory period
Money plan on 9grand for tune and blower and odd stuff you don’t plan or trade yours in take the 9 grand out it down in a car and move on

I am sure there will be a bunch of opinions to follow

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2015 RT 5.7 M6
7,995 Posts