Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been driving my `97 F-250 for 20 years now and it's time for a change. This time I decided I want something sexier than just another utility or commuter vehicle. I've been thinking about it and looking around since last fall. During the winter I was saw a car that really caught my eye. It had a big beefy powerful looking engine compartment, sort of like "Yeah, I'm tough, I don't care about drag, I'm gonna just power through it." As opposed to so many of the newer cars that are so low to the ground and tapered in the front. 4-door. It turned to be an older Charger, probably early- or mid-2000's, and I really liked it so I started looking at new Chargers (I've always been a Ford guy). I was a little disappointed that Dodge has changed the profile of the newer Chargers compared to that older one that I liked so much. The new ones are still great looking cars, but I wasn't as sold as I thought I was.

Along the way though, I started noticing Challengers here and there. I'd hardly been aware of their existence up to then - always thinking Ford. But after taking a good look at a couple, I was hooked. Shades of the big bad muscle cars of the early 70's. So I've been wavering between Charger and Challenger for months now. I've test driven both with V6's, and I've driven a Challenger with the 5.7L V8. The practical side of me says Charger for its four doors and better visibility, and the other side says Challenger for - well, just because it's so badass.