Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, let me say first that I am still a newbie...I've been reading and reading and reading about exhausts. Had my SE for about 3 months now and am about to put on duals with x pipe and Flowmaster Super 44s and no resonators this weekend. I know I'll have drone but don't know how bad it will be. Thus in antipation of this, I've been reading lots of on the subject. Most people will say put some resonators on or use dynomat, etc. but I came up with and idea and wanted to what you more experienced gear heads think or if anyone has tried this.

My understanding of drone is that at certain RPMs the exhaust system resonates at the same frequency. The idea of resonators is to change that frequency to a different RPM range to get rid of it. Taking the analogy of rubbing your finger around a wine glass and then putting your hand on the glass to stop the resonance, I was thinking of getting some stainless steel clamps the same size as my pipe. Then get a tube of high temperature, silicone caulk (something non water soluble) and lining the inside of the clamp and place it on the exhaust pipes. I figure this would have to change the harmonics of the exhaust piping. I just have no idea in what direction (i.e. good or bad). I also don't know what this would do to the exterior sound. Let me know what you all think. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,690 Posts
I think there's been alot of engineering and R&D done by alot of different companies to reduce/eliminate drone, and if it was as simple as you describe, it would have been done already.

Even if, in theory, it could work, I think you would spend a month of sunday's trying to figure out the right spot to put these clamps, as well as the size of the clamp etc...

Mike

·
Registered
568 Posts