Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to Dodge cars but have really admired the new Challenger. Now I have an opportunity to buy and found a nice 2019 black SXT Pentastar V6 with 40K miles at a good price. I've read many good things about the Pentastar being durable and reliable, port injection, decent hp and tq. good highway mpg.

After test driving the car I noticed a loud ticking sound from the engine during idle, like the sound of a direct injection engine. So I held off my purchase to research.

Come to find out the ticking is known mechanical issue, but haven't found a definitive answer.

I'm very concerned and a bit disappointed as I don't want to buy if the Pentastar isn't manufactured correctly and will be a problem.

What causes this ticking sound?
Is it inevitable to happen?
How reliable is the Pentastar?
What can you tell me are some of the known issues of the Challenger?

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
2020 Dodge Challenger Hellraisin Scat Pack
4,457 Posts
First I want to say you showed good sense in putting off your purchase. Sad to say some would have bought the car then come asking about the noise.

Have no direct experience with the Pentastar engine. There have been posts on this engine and ticking in particular. But there have been posts on other Dodge engines and ticking. And I can tell you ever since there have been car forums (or even before the "net") car BBSs there have been posts about engine ticking.