Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to challengers and I have a few questions. I’ve owned a lot of Mustangs before, but have never owned a Dodge. Can someone explain what the catch can does? Do I need one? What cold air kit should I get bang for the buck wise? What vendors do you recommend? I appreciate any help that you all can give me. Joe
2017 challenger R/T Plus 5.7 auto

·
Premium Member
2,874 Posts
Hi Joe. Great car! There are a few great threads on catch cans. Keeps and even cleans your engine. Throttle body and combustion chamber. Billet seems to be the most popular, UPR costs a little more but has more innerds to filter out the gunk. I got a UPR very recently. Right now in the middle of this page there are "popular photos" all of them pertain to catch cans. The usefulness of CAI is up for debate. Not on the cool factor though! All our vendors are good.

Reactions: Marshall Man

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick reply. I’ll check out the pictures.

·
Registered
486 Posts
I’m new to challengers and I have a few questions. I’ve owned a lot of Mustangs before, but have never owned a Dodge. Can someone explain what the catch can does? Do I need one? What cold air kit should I get bang for the buck wise? What vendors do you recommend? I appreciate any help that you all can give me. Joe
2017 challenger R/T Plus 5.7 auto
Here's a write-up I found on it.

PURPOSE OF A CATCH CAN​

The absence of a catch can will not damage your engine. The issue is engine efficiency. It prevents a buildup of oil residue that can result in a loss of power to your engine, over time, due to PCM-pulled timing.