Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I am new in owning a challenger. Just bought one last week. I have a ‘17 GT. I’ve seen videos about how this is a necessity. I use this vehicle as my daily driver. What do y’all think about this mod? Is it necessary? Pros? Cons? Any helpful input would be greatly appreciated!

·
Premium Member
2014 Challenger SRT 8
1,190 Posts
Ordered one for my 2014 at less the 500 miles on it, before it get oil coated.

We have one on the 2006 mustang and half to empty it weekly !!!

JLT Performance is the first and best IMOP

·
Registered
2019 Hellcat Red Eye Widebody
200 Posts
Marcus,

I'm a relative newbie here and wondered about their utility too. There are differing opinions about whether they really benefit our engines (one would think if they were important they would be OEM - but then again it is something else to check so it doesn't get full - that's very bad), but I concluded it was worth installing one and did so immediately after getting the car home. No one has said it will adversely affected our warranties, which is important.

A long time gear head buddy of mine with a sense of humor pointed out the real value in having one. With your hood up at the weekly "cruise in" night at your favorite Mexican restaurant (we love ours) when an interested person sees it and says, "What's that thing do?", you can tilt your head casually in the direction of your oil catch can and say, "That? That's my oil catch can. It adds 37 horsepower by preventing blow-by contaminants from the Positive Crankcase Ventilation system from reentering the intake manifold (or, better yet, the SUPERCHARGER!). Yep, best investment yet I've made in my Challenger!"