Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

Super Moderator
14,917 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pro Stock quarter mile drag racing times have dramatically decreased over the decades, since the class was established in 1970. This has been the result of tremendous advances in technology.

To determine who is the fastest competitor, forty-nine years ago, NHRA instituted the Mello Yello Drag Racing Series. The champion is determined by a point system where points are given according to finishing placement and qualifying effort. The season is divided into two segments. After the first 18 races, the top 10 are locked in and compete in the last six races with the difference in points greatly minimized.

Here are the winners, by decade. (Note the decrease in ¼ mile times):

1970- Ronnie Sox (Plymouth ‘Cuda)- 9.85 sec. (Note- Incredibly, the 2018 Dodge Demon can run a faster 9.65 sec. time!)


1980- Bob Glidden (Ford Futura)- 8.53 sec.


1990- Darrell Alderman (Dodge Daytona)- 6.950 sec.


2000- Jeg Coughlin Jr. (Dodge Avenger)- 6.750 sec.


2010- Greg Anderson (Chevrolet Camaro)- 6.528 sec.


1 - 1 of 1 Posts