Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

Registered
2018 Billet Silver SRT 392 (1 of 2)
Joined
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm looking at the factory build sheet for my ordered car and I see the following two items (not next to each other, one is on the third page and the other is on the last page). Does anyone know what "Auto Express Up Not Available" means? Is that referring to the windows? I ask because there have been several forum members reporting the 1-Touch Up feature is not enabled on their 2018's. I'm just wondering if they're trying to tell me it's not enabled on my car either.

* Pwr Front Windows, 1-Touch,Up & Down

* Auto Express Up Not Available

Thanks,
saint 0:)
 

Super Moderator
Joined
15,384 Posts
there early build '18s don't seem to have the functionality - yet.

Another similar item was the SP Bee animation on early '15 SPAG option - the animation was n/a on early builds and couldn't be flashed to install afterward...
 

Registered
Joined
193 Posts
Just got my 18 TA 392 yesterday. Build sheet says same thing and the window switch has the detent in it for auto up, but there is no auto up function. Maybe later builds? Who knows.
 

Registered
Joined
31 Posts
Interesting - my car is currently being shipped and my build sheet says "Pwr Front Windows, 1-Touch,Up & Down" Will see if the auto up works when I get it. Mine is a Canadian market car - wonder if that makes a difference.
 

Registered
Joined
193 Posts
Look towards the end of your build codes and you may see Auto Express Up not available on there. If you have that then your not getting auto up windows even though if says it has it at the beginning of the sheets. My cars build date was 10/14/17 and I don't have them. Not sure what's going on but really a non issue for me. The joy of driving this thing around outweighs any nuisance auto up window issue!
 

Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
Joined
16,939 Posts
Why would they make a big deal about one touch up windows, even show it as an item on the build sheet, then not have it working still? How difficult a technology can it be? Sheesh, along with the radio issues, it's amazing the wheels don't fall off. A Guy
 

Premium Member
Joined
2,874 Posts
You wouldn't think it is as big of a deal that it apparently is.
 

Registered
Joined
193 Posts
An employee from Brampton said on Allpar.com that they had problems getting the auto up function to work properly with the frameless window design that the Challengers use. It's my understanding that the feature has been dropped for all of '18
 

Super Moderator
Joined
15,384 Posts
An employee from Brampton said on Allpar.com that they had problems getting the auto up function to work properly with the frameless window design that the Challengers use. It's my understanding that the feature has been dropped for all of '18
That is so odd. Mercedes uses frameless glass on their coupes and has been doing this for 20 years...
 

Registered
Joined
193 Posts
I think it comes down to them not getting it to function properly using existing components and door design. Prob could have it work with design changes to the internals of the doors. This of course would've added significant cost just to add this feature. With a new car coming in 2 years they prob just don't want to invest development money into the current car.
 

Super Moderator
2016 SXT Plus Blacktop
Joined
16,939 Posts
Wonder about the legality of selling a car with a feature, even documented on build sheet, that does not work?

A Guy
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
My 2018 was built 7/2017 and no auto up. Was told this won't be added until later in the model year, some kind of software issue. On start up, I get the "shaker" logo, not the dancing bee (mine is R/T 392 Shaker car).
I love the car, but there are a few things that make me go....hmmmm
 

Registered
Joined
14,281 Posts

Super Moderator
Joined
15,384 Posts
My 2018 was built 7/2017 and no auto up. Was told this won't be added until later in the model year, some kind of software issue. On start up, I get the "shaker" logo, not the dancing bee (mine is R/T 392 Shaker car).
I love the car, but there are a few things that make me go....hmmmm
Unless you ordered SP Apperance Grp, you don't get the SP Bee animation. On the 392 Shaker, its "Shaker" on the splash screen...

That's the way mine is - not ordered with SPAG, so it displays Shaker on start up.
 

Super Moderator
Joined
15,384 Posts
Wonder about the legality of selling a car with a feature, even documented on build sheet, that does not work?

A Guy
There's usually verbiage about equipment subject to change, due to supply issues, availability etc. If there were a charge for optional equipment not installed, it would have to be credited back to the purchaser.
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Thanks, should I should have clarified but the car is a full load R/T392 Scat Pack Shaker. The only thing I deleted was the trunk stripe. Had a better quality one installed locally by the dealer.
 

Registered
Joined
1,237 Posts
My 16 has one touch up.....My finger just has to stay on the button for about 5 seconds....




I actually have it for real on my 17 gmc pick up and sometime its comedic as I get in the up and down loop cause the switch detente is so sensitive....up/down/up/down/up/down. :lol:
 

Registered
Joined
346 Posts
I have it on my 2010 Dodge Ram 2500 diesel. Maybe it is because it's a diesel and not a gas engine? :icon_aetsch:
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top