Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
601 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I hope Im putting this is the right spot. Secondly, let me state that I am a complete novice when it comes to the internals of an engine. I simply hoping some of you can fill me in or clear some things up for me.

First starters, There is a certain sound that I LOVE. It wasnt until yesterday that I realized that sound comes from a car with an aftermarket cam. I decided to look it up and check out some videos. I then realized that its not only just from an after maket cam, but from I guess specific style (novice here) and the type of tuning it has.

The sound that I LOVE is apparently called "lope" or "loping". Maybe it was lobe or lobing. Again. complete novice here. So i guess here are my questions.

Is it bad for the car to do that? (Lope)
Does it do that so you have more Top end?
What actually causes that? The sound like its about to stall but still outright mean?
Now the biggie. I read it was something in the tuning. Is that true? And if so can a stock cam be tuned to "Lope"

Id like to thank anyone who replies in advance and Im sorry if some of these question sound stupid or rediculous. I dont plan on changing out my cam because thats WAY OUT of my expertise as you can tell by the above questions

·
Registered
4,803 Posts