Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this site. I'm located in Nashville, TN...I'm 20 years old, and I own a 2003 Chevy Malibu lol.

My car is paid off, and I've been thinking hard about getting myself a Challenger. I have a lot of experience driving, and I know a Challenger is a BIG STEP above a Malibu.

Would you guys recommend getting a NEW Challenger or just go with a used model?

·
Registered
442 Posts
Used is only better if, as has been noted, it has low miles and been well maintained with no significant damage. Carfax is your friend here.

That being said, it depends on your price range. There are 2010 SE's that are new selling for around 23K; RT's around 28K with basic options for either, and less if you negotiate well.

·
Registered
2,286 Posts
I say go with what you can afford. You probably still be able to find some dealers in your area that still have 2010 models and will deal on them. If you do end up getting a used one, get a Carfax report on the car. Used car isn't necessarily bad, just want one that wasn't abused by the previous owner. New is good cause you can start from scratch as far as modding goes

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks to everyone who posted.

Should I go with the SE though?

I mean like it's not RT or SRT8, but is the 2011 SE at least decent? I would definitely go with a RT, but SE is all I can afford.

·
Registered
442 Posts
At 305 HP and 268 torque, you've got plenty of power with an amazing exterior. It's never going to give you the all out performance of a Hemi, but you won't be disappointed unless you have the need to race.