Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys

So this is new to me. I took the car to get an oil change and they said that it shows I need my rear wheel differential fluid filled. But, they weren't sure what to fill it with and I didn't have my owners manual on me, so they told me to figure it out and come back.

Any ideas? I have a 2014 Challenger RT. I have never done this before.

Thanks!

·
Registered
175 Posts
If it is low check for leaks. 75w 90 synthetic. I would drain and refill.

·
Premium Member
2,874 Posts
I would also go to another shop! That is excuse less in the computer age. A simple google search........
Good luck.

·
Super Moderator
16,216 Posts
Hey guys

So this is new to me. I took the car to get an oil change and they said that it shows I need my rear wheel differential fluid filled. But, they weren't sure what to fill it with and I didn't have my owners manual on me, so they told me to figure it out and come back.

Any ideas? I have a 2014 Challenger RT. I have never done this before.

Thanks!
There's two different GL5 lubricants called for

M6 use the lighter weight gear oil w/ friction modifier [for the limited slip diff] use -75W90

A5 use the heavier weight gear oil - these are 'open' diffs and use 75W140
-some cars were optioned with the limited slip - the tell tale is the case is a bright aluminum with fins on it.

The standard A5 open diff has a smooth case - no cooling fins

·
Registered
352 Posts
I would really wonder how they checked it was low. The way you check it's full is to have the sidebolt off and when it starts to pour out, stop putting oil in. This is a job you can do yourself also, it's really easy you just need a little oil can with a nozzle and an hour of time...

·
Premium Member
917 Posts