Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting, only lurked, so I'm sorry in advance for the crudeness.

I've got a 2013 6spd R/T and I would absolutely love to put in a remote start(I've had it on every car other car and feel in love with it) Now its not like I haven't already searched the forums for this question, believe me I have searched the net endlessly with no answer. I wanted to know if it was possible to install a factory/mopar remote start and use the oem fob and keep the key-less and go feature. I don't want to loss any features and I don't want another key fob. I'm not positive but i believe that this exist on the auto version. I'm not really worried about the neutral failsafe as I never leave it in gear while parked(lots of flat ground here). Thanks for any help in advance for the help guys!
:banger:

·
Registered
956 Posts
Here's a picture of what my 2011 R/T looks like with the remote start. I push the x2 button twice to turn it on:

You would at least know if you'd need a new fob to make it work.

·
Premium Member
6,492 Posts
There's actually no neutral safety on the manual cars but there is a clutch safety and these combined make it so there's no way the Mopar remote start would work on a 6-speed. Also, the feature codes in the PCM determine what is enabled or disabled, and I'm sure that the auto PCM is different than the 6-speed PCM, not to mention that the auto PCM would communicate with the TCM to determine the state of the transmission.

All this is done via modules over the CANbus network, these aren't just old-school on-off switches where you can just "trick" the car into thinking there's an automatic trans that's in park by wiring in a switch.