Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I've been a confused man for over a week now trying to figure out what the difference in a resonator/mid muffler/muffler on my car is... this is some bas-akward engineering. I work in IT so terminology is EVERYTHING and I hate not knowing something correctly. So from what I have gathered....

1. the parts in front of the wheels and behind the x-pipe are the mufflers
2. the rear of the car is the resonator

with this being said, I have seen so many videos and posts about deleting the resonators only to see they are replacing the mufflers with either straight pipe or a bullet muffler. Here is my genuine dilema, I am not at all sensitive to drone like some people are and my car is an M6 car so I already have bottle style mufflers on my car. On the M6 is it still a benefit to swap the mufflers with a vibrant or dynomax race muffler? Or is it a better option t get the measurements off my resonators (in the rear) and swap that with a magnaflow muffler or something similar to get better sound. I had all but made up my mind to buy a pair of vibrants and replace the pieces in front of the wheels (mufflers) with the vibrants... but after reading that my mufflers may already be a similar designed muffler is there any real benefit to this? Most of the videos I see are automatic cars which from my understanding have a idfferent muffler design. If the vibrant bullet mufflers are going to sound pretty much exactly the same at the stock bullet style mufflers, I think replacing the resonators in the back with a nice muffler, then again, I haven't seen any videos of anyone that has done a similar setup.

·
Registered
31 Posts