Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I'm a new Challenger owner. I bought a 2017 Challenger GT last week and after driving the car 10 times or so I started to notice a rattle in the roof around the overhead console. It was super annoying and unacceptable on a 160 mile car.

As an automotive interiors engineer, I knew I could fix it. The sound was a bounce on bumps and a sliding sound when stopping or taking off hard or going around a corner. It moved around and happened sunroof open or closed.

Determined not to take it to the dealer, I partially disassembled the headliner to check for loose screws in the overhead console. No issue there.

Finally today I started to focus more on the sunroof and I found the problem. After careful inspection that all the screws were tight on the sunroof, I found an extra screw that had been dropped in front of the air diffuser during assembly and was hanging out on the track it sits in.

In the industry, its a bonus screw and its a big problem. Its been reported to the dealer as a 0 TIS warranty claim.

I've posted pictures for anyone else who might have this issue.

Hope this helps.

Attachments

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Torx T20 or T25, 20mm with a flat washer attached.

Its a pretty standard screw for assembling vehicles and interior components.

I don't think it was done on purpose, but rather they dropped one and got another but didn't fish that one back out before it went to the next station on the line.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Those hold the glass in, i see now how it happened, still the person knew they dropped it, i guess they can't stop the line for a lost screw.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Those hold the glass in, i see now how it happened, still the person knew they dropped it, i guess they can't stop the line for a lost screw.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk