Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, I just bought a 17' TA 392 with a 6spd. This is my first manual car so I'm still getting the hang of things (yes I can drive it) just a little dusty. This is just a weekend toy, So being a rookie 6spd driver, I have a few questions:

1. What is a skip shit eliminator and what purpose does it have?
-bought the car with 6k miles on it, how can I tell if one is installed?

2. What purpose does a clutch valve delete serve?

3. Is a Barton shifter that much better than stock?

·
Registered
230 Posts
1. The factory built in a first to fourth skip shift into all 6-speed challengers. It will automatically lock out second and cause you to shift into fourth under certain loads. It seems to happen under light acceleration only. They did this to beat some emissions and potentially increase MPG's. If you've never noticed shifting to fourth from first you probably have an eliminator on your car.

2. I assume you mean the clutch delay valve? It is a piece that fits in the clutch line that limits the amount of fluid that can pass through. I believe this is done to make smoother shifting by allowing a very slight amount of slippage in the clutch after engagement. I haven't removed mine, so I don't really have any real world experience.

3. Good question, I'd like to know as well.

·
Registered
2016 Jazz Blue A8 Scat
688 Posts
Guys, I just bought a 17' TA 392 with a 6spd. This is my first manual car so I'm still getting the hang of things (yes I can drive it) just a little dusty. This is just a weekend toy, So being a rookie 6spd driver, I have a few questions:

2. What purpose does a clutch valve delete serve?

3. Is a Barton shifter that much better than stock?