Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've heard Seafoam sprayed in the intake in newer vehicles may not be good, but what about using it just in the gas tank?

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
And reasons for doing this is? I'm still learning

·
Registered
9,414 Posts
And reasons for doing this is? I'm still learning

It's like a "winterizer" for the gas, and cleans the fuel system. My car sits a lot during the winter if there's snow and ice on the roads.

It's supposed to keep the gas stable for long periods, and when you do run your car, it helps clean the injectors etc.

Several products like this on the market, but I've been using this for years, and really like it.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
Ahhh I understand. Thanks for explaining!

·
Premium Member
919 Posts
:thumbsup::thumbsup:
Your fuel comes with plenty of cleaners and solvents already, no need to add anything additional.
If you don't use "something" when leaving fuel in a engine/tank for long periods of time, all kinds of bad things can happen such as ethanol separating out, or varnishes separating out. It also helps to move accumulated water out of the tank and through the engine. Just look at how many people have to have the carburetors on their outboard motors serviced each spring and you'll see all of the people that didn't run something like sea-foam through the fuel system before winter.
That said, sea-foam is over-priced for me also, but I still use it for winterizing and occasionally run it through the cars just as a fuel system/fuel injector cleaner which is what the OP was asking about. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
151 Posts
Seafoam is a fuel stabilizer as well as a solvent. It could be used just as well as something like Sta-Bil to keep the fuel from separating. It's incredibly expensive for what it is and there are cheaper alternatives for a stabilizer that work just fine.