Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Guys,

New here. Did my search before asking questions but couldn't seem to find one pertaining to R/T (just 392s).

A lot of talk about launching for good 0-60 times but overall; what's the best shifting RPM for a 2014 R/T?

Here is how I have it and correct me if I am wrong:

Launching (subjective to what works best for you. In my case...) = 2,000-2,100rpms slip the clutch out
regulate until traction then WOT
1st gear shift 5,000rpms (to stay within torque pull/peak which is 4,300rpm so I've read)
2nd gear shift at 5,500rpms (to stay within hp peak which is 5,200 so i've read)
the rest? same 5,500rpms

am I doing it right? or should I move a bit more toward the redline?

Thanks for your input,

ER.

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
Hey,
I'm no expert, but I do own a 6M and know how to launch it. First, I have nice wide sticky rear tires. Second, I turn off TCS fully and give just enough gas to not spin the tires. Third, I go right up to red line, but don't let the RPM limiter kick in. You will have to practice. I do this for the first three gears and by the time I shift to 4th, I'm already in felony territory, so I back off.

To be more specific, I probably shift right around 5200+ RPMs. That gives me just enough margin for error without getting screwed by the RPM limiter.

These cars are Q monsters and that 2nd to 3rd gear pull is the best!

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thank you, Stevec.

I thought turning traction control off completely was reserved for burnouts? I am sure a good driver can launch it with no traction control as well but wouldn't it be easier with trac ctrl partly enabled (just one press of the button)? Like the Mercedes-Benz AMGs...you have sport ESP then you also have it ESP OFF (burnouts)...

·
Premium Member