Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have a question for those of you more knowledgeable than I. I am basically completely new to working on cars. I have a 2010 R/T Auto that is just too quiet. I want to put a Solo system on.

Now, I may have never worked on cars. But I'm not helpless. I am an engineer, and work on industrial wind turbines. In this job I've used many a tool, up too 800N/M torque wrenches and have had to get "creative." Maybe it applicable, maybe not. But I do know my way around some basic hand tools. I can't weld or anything though.

So is this something I can tackle on my own or should this just be handed off to a shop of some sort? I am eager to learn and I learn best by doing. I hate this "helpless" feeling and would like to change that. It's the only car I have so that's why I'm worried to mess something up and am looking for advice.

Please enlighten an eager young fool :icon_wink:

·
Premium Member
220 Posts
I just did my exhaust yesterday in my garage with car on jack stands. I would say its possible to do it alone but a LOT easier if you have a friend to help. There really isn't anything to screw up as all you need is a 13 and 15 mm wrench, some wd40 or other lubricant, and a whole lot of pushing and pulling to get your stock exhaust off. There are only 2 bolts holding the stock on and then the 6 rubber bushing you have to wrestle with (much easier if you have a friend to help get the thing off and don't mind getting dirty). Once the stock is off it's just a simple connect the dots putting everything else on and literally took me 20 minutes or so to slap together and then tighten the 10 clamps and I was done.

·
Registered
159 Posts