Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,328 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After reading so many recommendations that any good mobile audio build will include some sound deadening, I have finally decided to do it. This is my first time attempting such voodoo/black magic, so I’m not sure how much of an improvement to expect, or even what kind of improvement I should expect.

Will it help the stereo system sound better because of a reduction in outside noises coming in, or will it just stop all the little rattles and squeaks so I’m not constantly annoyed when I really turn the volume up? I don’t know...maybe both, maybe neither. But I plan on finding out soon.

I have purchased a package of the sound deadener that comes in 24”x16” sheets (2.67 sq ft), so I’ll be giving my progress reports as I finish body panels 1 or 2 sheets at a time.

This particular brand I purchased comes with instructions that say I should pre-heat the material to 140F before installation to ensure maximum adhesion. To accomplish this I am using a little simulated fireplace space heater to warm the sheets as I place them in front of it standing up.

image.jpg

Beyond that, the only other special consideration is to use a special little roller tool to flatten out all sections of the applied material.

image.jpg

And now set me to my tasks!

·
Premium Member
5,328 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
First up: the spare tire well of my trunk. I used two sheets to complete this job, cutting them into strips first, then heating them up, and finally rolling them into place.

It ain’t pretty, but it is done:

BDACA37D-D983-4F09-B8DD-01E86A6C92EB.jpeg

EB116D25-784F-44A6-A4E1-18E4DA2D63BE.jpeg

B0EF6ED6-1895-422F-9902-78C2D6FB66A9.jpeg

Next up: the rear deck

After that: the inside walls of the trunk/rear quarter panels.

·
Premium Member
5,328 Posts
Discussion Starter #3