Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm about to embark on a sound quality replacement of the Harmon Kardon audio system in a 2015 SRT. I've done many upgrades to SRT (if interested check out the build thread) and now it is time to replace the audio system. I'm no audio expert nor am I an audio installer but I like the challenge of performing upgrades so I will be doing the install. Please feel free to comment, especially expert advice.

I did a lot of reading up on the OEM head unit and decided that I will not change it out since it is so integrated into the data bus of the car. In a previous vehicle that had the OEM Alpine setup, I used the Audio Control DQ-61 to retain the OEM head Unit and flatten the speaker level signal so an amp could be added. The Focal PC 130F speakers and a Kicker sub powered by a JL Audio amp was used and the sound was pretty good but did not reach the clean, high quality sound I had hoped for, most likely due to the DQ-61 having to flatten and clean a amped and highly processed signal.

For the SRT I decided I wanted to install an interface that would grab the signal coming from the head unit before it reached the OEM amp. This should give a clean, pre-amp signal instead of an amped and processed signal that would need to be flattened and cleaned. I decided to use the PAC AmpPRO AP4-CH41 interface to do just that. The AP4 plugs into the data bus between the head unit and the OEM amp, routing a clean signal to the interface and allowing you to use RCA cables or, with an optional TOSlink adapter, use an optical digital cable to plug into the downstream components. The AP4 also retains the navigational prompts from the GPS, fade, balance, and the OEM system's eq. To me, although the more expensive route, this seems to be the route to starting with a clean signal to send to the downstream components of the system.