Dodge Challenger Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, without everyone getting out their flamethrowers, I was curious about how "great" the Pennzoil Ultra that Dodge is pitching for their SRT products. Personally, I like Amsoil, and have had excellent results with it in my Harley, and various engines and transmissions. But let me give you a little background on how my mind works: I'm an engineer, and I like to do things well beyond need. For instance, what started this fact-finding mission was my consideration for the 2016 Challenger SRT HC that I am anticipating. Personally, I will take it in at 500-1000 miles and have ALL the fluids changed (Engine oil, transmission oil and rear-end oil). Why? Because I don't care how precisely you machine your engine components (and I especially don't care if the maintenance schedule says I can change the trans oil at 45 or 60k), there will be break-in, and there will be cast-off. And I don't want that debris flowing through my shiny new Challenger (for what could be years, before the recommended service interval), which I intend to keep for literally the rest of my life. So I wanted to know: Should I let them put the SRT Pennzoil Ultra back in it, or should I switch to something else? What I found actually surprised me a bit.

So my quasi-anal-retentive thought process is that not only do I change the oil well before recommended intervals, I also try to ensure that I put the best oil I can reasonably find. After all, I'm not going to simply "take their word for it," I want to know that I'm using the best oil I can realistically find. What I found, verified from multiple independent sources, was the following: (if you want to look at the whole post including test methodology and full results list, it's here: Motor Oil Wear Test Results – Caution, VERY long • Speed Talk)

A little background: