Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 166 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! Nice to be here.

I've been driving my 2003 Jeep Liberty now for about 11 years. It's been a fantastic winter, fishing, and camping vehicle. I do plan to keep this for these reasons.

But suddenly, after being in the same car for 11 years, I was thinking maybe it's time to get a newish car. My requirements are simple: For it to be road-trip worthy, get better gas millage than my Liberty (15/17), fit a tall person (I'm 6'5"), have some occasional daily driver functions, and for it to have great resale value.

My first thought was to get a new Wrangler. Jeep finally pushed the JLs to 18/23 MPG (or perhaps slightly more). They have tremendous resale value. I'm not really big into off-roading, but I love the utility factor. Over the past week, I've talked myself out of it after envisioning how much I'd actually spend obtaining a 2dr hardtop model. Is a wrangler, to me, worth 32k more than my Liberty? That's a straight up NO! They are totally awesome cars though. Maybe in 5-6 more years it would be time to get a Wrangler and sell the Lib, but for now, I think the Lib is staying.

So now my mind is on keeping my Liberty and getting a fun car. I've always desired a Dodge, and a Challenger R/T ever since they came out. I got to looking at how much I'd spend, what really got me interested is that I'd be spending $12,000 less than a Wrangler!