Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I would like to introduce myself to your forum...I'm a 30 year old guy from Philly who is in the market for a new car so I like to join the forums specific to the car choices I am interested in, to get a better understanding of each from owners.

I have been doing my research and saving for the past 2 years and to be honest I never added the Challenger to my list because IMO the power to weight ratio for the cost didn't work for me. But the 2011 has changed everything!

To give you an idea of my taste here is my list in order of want:
1) 2011 Challenger SRT8 392 (Non IE)
2) 2011 Camaro 2ss/rs (with ground kit)
3) 2011 370Z NISMO
4) 2011 Mustang GT 5.0
5) 2011 EVO MR (manual tranny is a must for me)

Color-Black
Budget-45K Max.. Anything above that it would have to be the Camaro ZL1 , 45 is stretching my budget.

Personally I think the Challenger is the sexiest of them all and obviously most of you would agree. Prior to the 2011 I felt that stretching my budget for the SRT8 was not worth it for the fact that I could get a faster car for much cheaper. Lets just say I was very happy to see the changes to the 2011!

Going with the SRT8 is still a stretch for me budget wise as the other cars I have listed are in the 38-40k range (after options). Based on the markups I've seen on the Challenger I am assuming if I go for a non IE 2011 when the 2012 models come out at the end of the year or so I can get one for 45 after tax tags title with no extra options added (nav etc.)...with a good negotiation.

I really like the new ZL1 Camaro but the reality of that is about 52K est when it actually comes out and they markup the crap out of it.

Now with the 2011 changes I feel the higher price compared to the competitors is warranted. And if I am already shelling out lets say 39K why not get the better car for 4K-5K more, right? Its worth it, right guys?