Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
I’m from the Boston New Hampshire area I want to introduce myself seems like a great forum
I just recently bought a SXT I know it’s not an eight cylinder LOL but it works best for me… Anyways my question is I heard since I’m a daily driver that if I park my car in garage after snowing all day up here… Meaning traveling to and from work and then park in garage at night , That this will cause my car to rust out quicker, because of the salt . Basically when your car defrost the liquid and salt will stay on your car has rust out over time . They say it’s better to leave it outside when it freezes So it stays frozen causing a lot less damage. My question is my garage is not heated so therefore will be very cold during winter months but will keep the snow off. What do you guys think is the best option? garage or no garage? heated garage or non-heated garage ? I appreciate all feedback and also happy to be here!

·
Registered
107 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
I don't buy any of that. I have been parking my cars / trucks in the garage for decades and never did any of them rust any faster then if I left them outside. Come to think about it , I haven't had any rust on any of my vehicles over the last 20 Plus years.
What I do especially in hard winters is take it to a local Drive in do it your self and pressure wash down the wheel wheels and chassis the best I can. I'll give it a bath after a hard winter snow and then park it in the garage for touch ups.
Leaving salt on your car will eventually wear it down and rust it out. I don't care if you park in the garage or outside. The garage give you the ability to maintain your ride much better then left outside. I use my garage all year around. I'm lower then you in PA right north of Philadelphia and the winters can be harsh and salty.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3