Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2015 6M Scat Pack. I am not sure if this is related to the issues with the UConnect Update disabling sport mode, but in any gear, I have a slight delay when giving the car some gas and it makes a bit of a bogging sound and then takes off. I've tried it through multiple gears and speeds and if I am coasting without applying any throttle and give the car gas, there is about a half second to one second delay where the car just kind of bogs and then goes.

Has anyone experienced this? I haven't reset any fuses or pulled any battery terminals because I don't know that the 6M has the same adaptives that the A8 has.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,642 Posts
I have a 2015 6M Scat Pack. I am not sure if this is related to the issues with the UConnect Update disabling sport mode, but in any gear, I have a slight delay when giving the car some gas and it makes a bit of a bogging sound and then takes off. I've tried it through multiple gears and speeds and if I am coasting without applying any throttle and give the car gas, there is about a half second to one second delay where the car just kind of bogs and then goes.

Has anyone experienced this? I haven't reset any fuses or pulled any battery terminals because I don't know that the 6M has the same adaptives that the A8 has.
Hi ajkeence99,

If you'd like to PM our page with your VIN I'd be happy to look into this further for you!

Andrea
Dodge Social Care Specialist
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
I have a 2015 6M Scat Pack. I am not sure if this is related to the issues with the UConnect Update disabling sport mode, but in any gear, I have a slight delay when giving the car some gas and it makes a bit of a bogging sound and then takes off. I've tried it through multiple gears and speeds and if I am coasting without applying any throttle and give the car gas, there is about a half second to one second delay where the car just kind of bogs and then goes.

Has anyone experienced this? I haven't reset any fuses or pulled any battery terminals because I don't know that the 6M has the same adaptives that the A8 has.
Before I clicked on this thread I was betting that this was going to be an M6. I know we M6's have the 3rd gear bog issue. The car doesnt really pick up until you get your RPMs get high enough. I guess you really need to tell us what RPMs you are coasting at before giving it gas.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've tried it in various ranges and it happens in 4th and 5th gear too. I don't think I've ran into it in 1st or 2nd and don't generally mash the pedal in 6th too often. I've tried flooring it and I've tested it by just coasting with no throttle and just tapping the pedal a bit and it does the same thing. It's just a 1-second or so lag where the engine bogs a bit and sounds similar to my old RAM truck when the ECO mode was on and you hit the gas. It hasn't always done this, it's fairly recent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
I mean, I guess you can try to pull fuse 31. I did it before for the hell of it and I didn't find that it changed anything on my M6. Other than that, dealership.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I mean, I guess you can try to pull fuse 31. I did it before for the hell of it and I didn't find that it changed anything on my M6. Other than that, dealership.
Not expecting that to work, I tried it anyway, and it didn't change anything. I do have an appointment with the dealer on Thursday.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
263 Posts
Some people think this is a gimmick and honestly I was a bit skeptical but I purchased a sprint booster and I tell you my lag is almost gone. You can get the sprint booster for either manual or auto. Look into it. It's a bit pricey but worth it as the results are spot on. I'm certainly glad I bought it. Anyway...just something else to think about.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I took it in for my appointment today, which was scheduled for 2:00pm. I show up at 1:45pm to check it in and they tell me, immediately, they won't even be able to look at it today because it was too late in the day! I'm already annoyed because I expect it to be a fairly simple fix, or that they would at least check it out, but then I get told I will be given a rental...from Enterprise. So now I sit for 45 minutes waiting for Enterprise to show up and end up getting a freaking Dodge Journey. How does a dealership not have loaners? How do I own a nearly 50k car and get stuck driving this bucket? That aside, the service is open until 9pm and they won't be able to look at it in the 7 hours left before close?! I'm probably far more pissed about this than I should be but it is incredibly annoying. I definitely will not be using this dealership again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
I took my car in to change my differential fluid. 30min job. Took them 3 days.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
257 Posts
Had this same problem on my 2009 6m R/T and I also have the same issue on my new car. Its annoying as hell. It's really noticeable in 3rd and 4th but if I let off the gas and literally floor it it takes a second for the car to do anything.

Does that Sprint Booster thing actually eliminate this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Sprint booster works amazingly well at eliminating the lag in the drive by wire system. The throttle body opens immediately and makes the car act the way it should have from the factory. Worth every penny.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,683 Posts
My theory is that the lag isn't the drive by wire, rather it is the vct dialing from economy mode to power mode. I also believe that heat soak effect exacerbates the lag effect
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,874 Posts
My theory is that the lag isn't the drive by wire, rather it is the vct dialing from economy mode to power mode. I also believe that heat soak effect exacerbates the lag effect
Me too.
 

·
Registered
ARTIE is a 2016 R/T PLUS with Super track pack, 6 speed, Ruby Red Interior
Joined
·
115 Posts
Guys have you tried to reset & recalibrabe your throtle mapping ?
1) put your car on/ignition without starting.
2) wait till all the lights in the cluster turns off.(3sec)
3) fully press the gas pedal for 20seconds
4) release slowly the gas pedal.
5) shut off the car.
6) start and drive it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
Guys have you tried to reset & recalibrabe your throtle mapping ?
1) put your car on/ignition without starting.
2) wait till all the lights in the cluster turns off.(3sec)
3) fully press the gas pedal for 20seconds
4) release slowly the gas pedal.
5) shut off the car.
6) start and drive it
For manual or automatic? Or does it make a difference?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top