Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks i just got a letter from Chrysler and i was informed that my car 2010 challenger r/t classic was infact under recall for a timing chain , tensioner, guide, cover gasket and a couple of o-rings. Are Chrysler also replacing the cam and crank sprockets and oil control solenoid? As being a Mechanic i dont see the sense on changing just the chain , tensioner ,and guide and not changing the sprockets. Thanks for any info.

·
Premium Member
2,418 Posts
Are Chrysler also replacing the cam and crank sprockets and oil control solenoid? As being a Mechanic i dont see the sense on changing just the chain , tensioner ,and guide and not changing the sprockets. Thanks for any info.
1 Chain, Engine Timing
1 Guide, Engine Timing Chain
1 Tensioner, Engine Timing Chain
1 O-ring, Oil Pick-up Tube
1 Gasket, Engine Timing Cover

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
I haven't gotten anything in the mail, is the recall something new, i know that its been a problem for some, and thought about having it done anyway, but figured i'd wait since the car has low miles on it

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
timing chain recall

Hi there, yes just got a letter from Chrysler today stating that my car has the timing chain recall. Double checked the Vin # and sure enough it made the list, just can`t figure out why they wouldn`t replace the cam and crank sprockets also.

·
Registered
2010 Challenger SRT 6spd detonator yellow
495 Posts
can someone please post the vin # list for all of us to see

·
Registered
330 Posts
According to the service guy at Dodge all 2009-2014 5.7 Hemi automatics are involved in the recall.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts