Dodge Challenger Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi team,
My head is spinning after reading through a bunch of the detailing posts here - great stuff and thanks to all the posters. I am a complete novice re detailing - never had a car worth taking the effort before. I really want to make this beauty sparkle/shine - love the lustre in the factory coat.

There are some really good and elaborate tips - and some specific to black cars - (and don't hate me if this is a stupid question) but are there any specific recommendations in products and process for my '14 phantom black tri coat pearl?

By the way - I was showing it to a mate on arrival - (it was a bit dusty from being shipped over to New Zealand) and I wiped some dust from a panel as I talked to him and he just-about had a hemorrhage saying I was damaging the paint every time I did that...... I hate to think what I've done to my previous cars then :)

Sorry for the novel - thanks for any advice in advance.

·
Premium Member
707 Posts
and I wiped some dust from a panel as I talked to him and he just-about had a hemorrhage saying I was damaging the paint every time I did that...... I hate to think what I've done to my previous cars then :)
I'd suggest that since your friend is so concerned the only way to keep the shine and maintain his standards (for your car) is to never drive the car. Driving it will "damage" the paint, leaving it outside in the sun will "damage" the paint, even washing it will damage the paint.

Other than that, take no advice from me, apparently I am a very bad owner of a Phantom Black car - I use one of those RV brush things to wash it. The Horror!!! ;)

·
Registered
31 Posts
tri coat paint