Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the challenger community and looking for opinions. I Just bought a 2011 RT with only 10,000 miles on it. The car is in absolutely mint condition. My question is, should I keep it all original or should I make some modifications? This is not an everyday driver and I plan to keep it forever or at least a very very long time.

·
Registered
4,956 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Generally unmodified challengers have a better resale value but since you are planning to keep it forever or until the rust Gods make an appearance then I say heck yah. I really doubt these cars will appreciate as the 70's muscle cars have...although I would love to be proven wrong. Just know that if you are looking for more HP, it takes significant funds...anywhere from $50-$100 per HP (really depends on the power adder and if you will be doing the work yourself).

·
Premium Member
9,259 Posts
Congrats on your new R/T! It's a great platform to build from if you choose to add mods. The good thing is you have a pre '15 so you do not have to get an unlocked PCM. My first three mods have always been a catch can, cold air intake, and an exhaust.

Enjoy your Challenger :)

- Alexis

·
Registered
394 Posts
Search the forum, a lot of great information on different mods. Catch can, intake, exhaust and tuner for your RT would be by advice. Also, run good oil and run good fuel (top tier, Shell V-power once you tune it for 93Octane).

·
Registered
897 Posts
If you decide to go down that road, just make sure you do your homework and find a time tested Mopar shop with a good history of performance work on our cars. No canned tunes or multi night stays at Joe's Garage. I even recommend shipping your car out of state if that's what it takes to get a good shop on board.

·
Super Moderator
12,563 Posts
The mod bug may make your question moot ;) Congrats!

A Guy

·
Registered
968 Posts