Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am by no means an expert tuner, but I do have a little experience using HP Tuners on the LS engines. I also have a BASIC understanding of fuel and timing curves, torque management, and data logging. Very basic! That being said, I have a couple of questions about the Predator and Hemi tuning.

1. I recently did some logging on my 2010 RT AUTO and noticed that the command afr @ WOT was 11.8. That seems ridiculously rich to me. I liked to see 12.8 on my brand X junk. Is 11.8 too rich and is the only way to set the commanded afr through the CMR software? On a related note, i noted that the LTFT's were in the -1.8 range. Should I reduce fueling in that RPM range?

2. I thought (key word thought) that there was a wide band O2 sensor that could replace/emulate the factory narrow band and act as a wide band as well. Again this was when I was working on Brand X stuff. Has anyone else heard of something like that or did I dream it? I guess there isn't anything like that available for the Challenger. Could I replace one of the rear O2's with a wideband and have a CMR tuner turn them off since I don't have to pass inspection?

3. I have scoured this and the Diablosport boards for Hemi tuning tips. I have found the best PID's to monitor and such, but haven't really found anyone sharing much detailed info. I know the Predator is limited compared to the HP Tuners suite (thanks to Chrysler) but I am wondering if anyone has any general info to share on tuning the Eagle motors. For example add 1% fuel and 2 degrees spark in the mid range etc... Is the Predator so limited (not knocking Diablosport) that it is best to just run a canned tune and let someone with CMR interpret the logs and tune where they can turn more knobs so to speak? I know there are many great Hemi tuners, but half the fun to me is doing it myself (and being VERY careful along the way).