Dodge Challenger Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am VERY new to this so please be gentle!

I just got a 2020 Challenger R/T Scat Pack 392
I have never owned a new car that was like this (fast).
I was told by friends and family i should get a tune, but i am hesitant because of the warranty.
I have checked this forum and well as youtube and other forums, and it seams that i should not tune the car because of the PCM and Odometer(cluster) wont match!
Question time: Can i switch out both, and save the old pcm and the current cluster, install new ones and when its time to take it into the dealer switch both back so that the millage can match?

·
Registered
954 Posts

Question time: Can i switch out both, and save the old pcm and the current cluster, install new ones and when its time to take it into the dealer switch both back so that the millage can match?
No. As soon as you switch out PCMs, a P1400 code will post in the BCM , that is un removable. The dealers will see this.

·
Registered
2015 RT 5.7 M6
7,565 Posts
I have never seen the code P1400 on my 2015 RT+ but the BCM seems to detect that I have an aftermarket tune. There is a guy on HP tuners that said he can clear this but that is just dishonest. Just wait for your warranty to expire and then tinker with it.

·
Registered
2,255 Posts

I just got a 2020 Challenger R/T Scat Pack 392
I have never owned a new car that was like this (fast).
I was told by friends and family i should get a tune, but i am hesitant because of the warranty.
I have checked this forum and well as youtube and other forums, and it seams that i should not tune the car because of the PCM and Odometer(cluster) wont match!
Essentially you are seeking advice on how to defraud the dealer and Dodge. Are you sure this is what you want to do?

Pretty sure Dodge has thought this through and would detect the attempt to defraud it.